Kent College Website - Early Year Foundation Stage (EYFS)
(+20) 1229872222

Early Years Foundation Stage


» Schedule a call Join our school

Early Years Foundation Stage (Age 3 - 5)

Active learning through play and experimental investigation is an essential basis for effective education at every stage. Our world-class educators plan for and create stimulating environments that facilitate learning through capitalising on the children’s interests.

The children are encouraged to lead their own learning, and as such, the organisation of space, materials, and people is designed to support this independence.

Learning provision is planned to promote each skill in communication, creativity, and problem-solving. Within the day-to-day life of the classroom, there is a carefully considered schedule, which provides a framework for planning.

Children learn to make decisions, ask questions and reflect on their own learning. Careful observations of the children’s development allow the teachers to make informed judgments about the learning taking place and possible next steps, to plan relevant, challenging, and motivating experiences for each child. Throughout the day, teachers will prepare and facilitate activities to encourage skills and knowledge in all seven areas of learning, in order for children to achieve the 17 Early Learning Goals at the end of Foundation Stage 2.

The EYFS is a UK government framework that sets out welfare and development goals for children aged five and under.
The development sections covered within EYFS are separated into the following seven key learning areas:

Prime Areas of Development and Learning:

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal Social and Emotional Development

Specific Areas of Development and Learning:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding of the World
  • Expressive Arts

Effective Learning Characteristics

Key aspects of effective learning characteristics include children:

  • Being willing to have a go
  • Being involved and concentrating
  • Having their own ideas
  • Choosing ways to do things
  • Finding new ways
  • Enjoying achieving what they set out to do

A developmental curriculum, this program recognises and allows for each child to progress at their individual pace in each area of the seven areas of development. It provides firm foundations from which children move into the National Curriculum for England in Year One.

Follow us on